Are Newman O’s Vegan?

Last Updated:

Based on the manufacturer’s ingredient list, it seems that Newman O’s may be suitable for a vegan diet as all of the listed ingredients are plant-derived.

Are Newman O's Vegan

Furthermore, On their FAQ page, they list “All Newman-O Cookies” as vegan and free of animal sourced ingredients:

However, it’s important to note a couple of things:

  1. “Natural flavors” is a term that can encompass a wide variety of ingredients, some of which may be animal-derived. Usually, in cookies and similar products, these flavors are plant-based, but without specific information, it’s impossible to say for sure.
  2. “Sugar” can sometimes be processed using bone char from animals, mainly in the US. This doesn’t leave any animal product in the sugar, but it is still a concern for some vegans. Not all sugars are processed this way, and organic sugar, which is specified in the ingredient list, is usually not processed with bone char.
  3. Even though the ingredients may seem vegan, cross-contamination could occur during manufacturing processes if the same machinery is used for non-vegan products. If you follow a strict vegan diet, you might want to contact the company directly or look for products explicitly labelled as vegan.

Please remember to always check the product’s specific packaging or contact the manufacturer directly to verify the most accurate and current information.

Manufacturer’s Ingredient List

  • Organic Unbleached Wheat Flour
  • Organic Powdered Sugar (Organic Sugar, Organic Cornstarch)
  • Organic Sugar
  • Organic Palm Fruit Oil
  • Sunflower Oil (Expeller Pressed)
  • Cocoa (Processed with Alkali)
  • Organic Invert Syrup
  • Natural Flavors
  • Sodium Bicarbonate
  • Unsweetened Chocolate
  • Salt
  • Soy Lecithin

Leave a Comment